Live for yourself

Dear dreamers,

I’m going to write an extremely honest post, just because I feel it necessary. Something that I’ve learned along my journey of maximising my inner happiness, is that it is extremely important to live for yourself, and not for other people. A personal quality of mine that I take pride in is my willingness to help other people as best I can. I find myself in multiple situations where I put my closest friends’ happiness before my own, out of choice, because I truly do get a rewarding feeling from helping people that I love. I never help people for selfish reasons, it purely stems from the fact that because there is so much bad in this world, I want to do the best I can to improve it, and therefore I make other people feel good as best as I can, because their happiness does make me happy, and I do this without expecting anything in return. However, I must highlight the importance of self love. Sometimes, trying so hard to make other people happy can draw you away from this concept. Sometimes, you can become so caught up in satisfying others that you don’t always do what’s best for yourself, and unfortunately, sometimes your loss is their gain. I’m not trying to say that it’s a bad thing to make people you love feel happy, and I know that I would always put their happiness before my own. However, that can sometimes cause a problem. It’s important to look out for yourself. For example, you should never feel like you should do something you don’t want to do just for the sake of someone’s satisfaction, because this can end up damaging you. As ‘selfish’ as some people may label it, it’s important to do things for yourself, and to do what ever makes you happy. The reason I believe this to such a large extent is because at the end of the day, you are the only person who lives your life. You are the only person who knows yourself, inside and out, because its only you that lives inside your head, and you are the only person who is powerful enough to create your own reality. The point I’m really getting at is that you must never sacrifice your self happiness for the sake of somebody else, because you are the person who is making your life the best it can possibly be. It’s so important to live for yourself, stay true to yourself, stay grounded, stand up for what you believe in, and not to give too much of yourself to others, especially when they don’t return what you give. Don’t live to impress other people, and always strive to be the best version of yourself, give an abundant of love to people who give it back to you. Take care of yourself. Fill each day with what makes you happy. Never lose yourself at the expense of other people, because at the end of your life the only person that you can guarantee is going to be at the end of your journey is yourself. It’s important to be your own best friend.

Sincerely,
sig2

3 thoughts on “Live for yourself

Leave a Reply

